Love is..

Standard

What is love? What would be your definition of love? How do you express your love? Are there different kinds of love? If so, what are the different kinds? Are there different ways to express them all? What are your thoughts? (Would love to hear what you think about love in the comments!)

Google gave me these three definitions of “Love”.
1) an intense feeling of deep affection.
2) a person or thing that one loves.
3) feel a deep romantic or sexual attachment to (someone).

My definition of “Love”.
-the showing of emotions towards one that is special to you no matter the circumstance nor the opposite ones feelings.

This thought of love came up two days ago when my special needs brother and I went to town. It was a day before his birthday and I wanted to spend a little one-on-one time with him. I gave him a bath before we left, then we were off. It’s about a 20-25 minute drive into town. My brother got in my car and the first thing that he did (which he NEVER does this.) He pointed to my phone, snapped his fingers and said chicken fried.

A little story behind Chicken Fried. When it first came out in 2008 Cory’s teacher/mentor at school had it as a ringtone and they would listen to it all of the time. Cory loved the song and would listen to it at home, or wherever he was. I think he loved it because it was something bonding him and his mentor together. The song was fine for a few months, even up to a year, but after that it got really old. I had gotten to the point of avoiding that song at all costs. If it came on the radio I changed the station. If Cory was listening to it on his headphones I would turn them down so I wouldn’t have to listen to it. I despised that song with my whole being. When your brother listens to 1 song for 5 years straight, it gets just a tad bit old.

Back to the story, on Monday in my car, Cory wanted to listen to Chicken Fried and when I searched for it on my phone I really didn’t think I had it, but apparently I did and couldn’t clear the screen before Cory had seen it saying “Chicken Fried” and snapping his fingers with the biggest grin on his face. How could I say no?!?

Again it is a 20-25 minute drive to town and then again for the way home. We listened to that same song over and over again the whole way to town and back. He loved it. He snapped his fingers and danced. We turned it up really loud and just jammed out. HE LOVED IT! He was all smiles the whole way there and back home. The first thing he said to mom when we got home was him listening to “Chicken Fried”.

At first I was upset that I was having to listen to the song but I got into it as well. I sang every word and danced with my brother. I was able to catch some of the movements and his excitement in pictures. (I wasn’t able to get a video because I was using my phone to play the song.) I hope you enjoy the pictures and the story of my precious brother.

To end this I will tell you my second definition of “Love.” This is a person definition, but hope that you can relate in some way, form, or fashion.

Love is… listening to the same song over and over again for 40+ minutes, jamming out, and dancing even though it is your most despised song, because it’s your brothers’ birthday and his absolute favorite song.
THAT IS LOVE!

How are you going to show love today? What would be your PERSONAL definition of love. I would LOVE to hear your stories. Comment below!(:

God Bless,
Ariel(:

Here is the pictures of my brother. Cory Chicken Fried

Leave a Reply

